South Africa Postal Codes (Zip Code List)


South Africa postal codes are unique four-digit code that is assigned to each geographical area in the country. They are used by the South African Post Office to sort and deliver mail.

This blog post will discuss everything you need to know about South African postal codes, including how to find your postal code, how to use it, and the different types of postal codes.


South African postal codes were first introduced in 1977. They are a unique four-digit code that is assigned to each geographical area in the country. Postal codes are used by the South African Post Office to sort and deliver mail.

Read also: Housekeeping TEER Codes in Canada.

How to Find Your Postal Code:

There are a few different ways to find your postal code in South Africa. You can find it on your South African ID card, or you can look it up on the South African Post Office website. You can also find your postal code on many online maps, such as Google Maps.

ProvinceZIP CodeArea CodeCapital
Eastern Cape4731 – 5999+27Manila
Free State8300 – 9999+27Bangued
Gauteng0299 – 2199+27Cabadbaran
Kwazulu-Natal2900 – 4730+27Prosperidad
Limpopo0500 – 0999+27Kalibo
Mpumalanga1000 – 2499+27Legazpi
North West0300 – 0499+27San Jose de Buenavista
Northern Cape8100 – 8999+27Kabugao
Western Cape6500 – 8099+27Baler

How to Use Your Postal Code:

Your postal code is used to sort and deliver your mail. When you address a letter or parcel, be sure to include your postal code in the address. This will help the South African Post Office to deliver your mail to the correct address.

Different Types of Postal Codes:

There are two different types of postal codes in South Africa:

  • Standard Postal Codes: Standard postal codes are used for residential and commercial addresses.
  • Private Bag Postal Codes: Private bag postal codes are used for large organizations that receive a lot of mail.

Related: Top 10 In-Demand Careers In South Africa.

Full List of South Africa Postal Codes (Zip Codes).

Code RangeArea
Northern Region (Gauteng, Mpumalanga, most of North West, Limpopo)
0300–0499North West—northern part
0500–0698Limpopo—south and west
0699–0999Limpopo—north and east
1000–1399Mpumalanga—Northern half
1400–1699Gauteng—East Rand / Ekurhuleni Metro
1700–1799Gauteng—West Rand, Mogale City/Krugersdorp, Roodepoort (now part of Johannesburg)
1800–1999Gauteng—Soweto and Vereeniging/Vanderbijlpark Region (Motsweding)
2000–2199Gauteng—Johannesburg (original Johannesburg, Randburg, Sandton)
2200–2499Mpumalanga—southern half
2500–2899Northwest Province—southern and central
Eastern Region (KwaZulu Natal, eastern part of Eastern Cape)
2900–3199KwaZulu Natal—Northern KwaZulu Natal
3200–3299KwaZulu Natal—Pietermaritzburg and surrounds
3300–3599KwaZulu Natal—Midlands
3600–3799KwaZulu Natal—Region between Durban and Pietermaritzburg, including satellite towns, such as Westville.
3800–3999KwaZulu Natal—Zululand Region (including Richards Bay)
4000–4099KwaZulu Natal—Durban / Ethekwini (original area)
4100–4299KwaZulu Natal—South Coast
4300–4499KwaZulu Natal—North Coast
4500–4730KwaZulu Natal—Griqualand East and Umzinkulu
Southern Region (Eastern Cape, eastern parts of Western Cape)
4731–5199Eastern Cape—Former Transkei
5200–5299Eastern Cape—East London
5300–5499Eastern Cape—historical “Border” region
5500–5999Eastern Cape—Northern part
Western Region (Western Cape (Cape Town and West Coast), Northern Cape)
6000–6099Eastern Cape—Port Elizabeth
6100–6499Eastern Cape—Western part
6500–6699Western Cape—Garden Route and Oudtshoorn area
6700–6899Western Cape—Klein Karoo
6900–7099Western Cape—Groot Karoo
7100–7299Western Cape—Area South-East of Cape Town
7300–7399Western Cape—West Coast
7400–7599Western Cape—Northern parts of Cape Metropole
7600–7699Western Cape—Areas East of Cape Town, such as Stellenbosch
7700–8099Western Cape—Cape Town and Cape Peninsula
8100–8299Northern Cape—Namaqualand Region
Central Region (Northern Cape and Free State)
8300–8799Northern Cape—Eastern Part
8800–8999Northern Cape—Gordonia Region
9000–9299formerly assigned to South West Africa
9300–9399Free State—Bloemfontein and surrounds
9400–9699Free State—Northern Free State
9700–9899Free State—Eastern Free State
9900–9999Free State—Southern Free State

Find more postal codes in South Africa here.


South Africa postal codes are a useful tool for sorting and delivering mail. By understanding how postal codes work and how to use them, you can help to ensure that your mail is delivered quickly and accurately.

Also Read: Volkswagen Graduate Training Program 2024 in South Africa.

Additional Tips:

  • When addressing a letter or parcel, be sure to include the full postal code, including the hyphen.
  • If you are unsure of the postal code for a particular address, you can look it up on the South African Post Office website.
  • If you are sending a letter or parcel internationally, you will need to include the country code in the address.

Similar Posts